Open Your Wings to the World


The North Atlantic Treaty Organisation (NATO) was created on the signing by 12 founder members of the document known as the Washington Treaty on 4 April 1949.The 14 articles of the treaty define the alliance’s essential purpose: to safeguard the freedom and security of its members through political and military means. NATO currently has 29 member states.

NATO’s mission is to protect the freedom of its members. Its targets include weapons of mass destruction, terrorism, and cyber attacks. In particular,Article 5 says, “an armed attack upon one, shall be considered an attack upon them all.” NATO operates on the belief that a strong international alliance is critical to maintaining peace. Beyond helping member nations with issues of security and stability, NATO also provides support to the United Nations help with international peacekeeping operations, including missions that combat terrorism, protect civilians, and promote world peace.


Agenda Items:

Countering Cyber-Terrorism In NATO Member States
New Russian Air Defence System Established In Turkey


USG: Arafat Asilkan

Academic Assistant: Pelin Baran